Main Multilateral Agreements


Bilateral Agreement
Acts on ratification of agreements on cooperation in protection and rescue between FYROM and:

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina- (signed 2008)
  • Montenegro – (signed 2008)
  • Hungary – (signed 2009)
  • Slovenia – (signed 2010)
  • Croatia – (signed 2010)

Memorandum of understanding and cooperation in the area of protection and rescue of people and material goods against natural and other disasters between Protection and Rescue Directorate of Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Danish Emergency Management Agency, signed 2010 in Skopje.
Regional agreements

  • Memorandum of understanding of the institutional framework of the Disaster Preparedness and Prevention Initiative (DPPI) of SEE, signed 2007 in Zagreb
  • Agreement on the establishment of the Civil-Military Emergency Planning (CMEP) council for South-eastern Europe, signed 2001 in Sofia
  • EUR-OPA Major Hazards Agreement, set up by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe in 1987

International organization participation
The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia is a member of the UN and the Council of Europe. Since December 2005 it has also been a candidate for joining the European Union and has applied for NATO membership.
It is also a member of the following international and regional organizations: IMF (since 1992), WHO (since 1993), EBRD (since 1993), Central European Initiative (since 1993), Council of Europe (since 1995), OSCE (since 1995), SECI (since 1996), WTO (since 2003), CEFTA (since 2006), La Francophone (since 2001), World Meteorological Organization (since 1993), International Organization for Telecommunication (since1993), International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent C ( since the dissolution of SFR Yugoslavia), NATO/PfP (since1995), European Union candidate country (since December 2005) , DPPI.