Organization of the Country


Albania is divided into 12 Regions (Qarks), 36 Districts, 375 municipalities and communes, which are the basic units of local self-government
 ( Albania is a parliamentary republic with a single house of parliament, the National Assembly (Kuvendi), made up of 140 members (deputies), the president being elected by the National Assembly. 

The Council of Ministers consists of the Prime minister, the deputy Prime minister and other ministers. The Council of Ministers exercises every state function that is not delegated to other state organizations or to local government.
The units of local govern­ment are communes or municipalities and regions (Qark). Communes, munici­palities and Regions exercise all the duties of local government with the exception of those provided by legislation to other units of local government. The representative organizations of the basic units of local government are councils, which are elected every four years in direct elections with secret vot­ing.
The executive member of a municipal­ity or commune is the mayor (chairman), who is elected directly by the people. 
A region consists of several basic units of local government with traditional, eco­nomic and social ties and joint interests. The region is the unit in which regional policies are constructed and implement­ed and where they are harmonized with state policy. The representative organization of the region is the regional council. Municipalities and communes delegate members to the regional council in pro­portion to their population.