Main Multilateral Agreements


The main multilateral agreements are:

  • Agreement on Cooperation in the Forecasting, Prevention, and Mitigation of Natural and Technological Disasters between the Governments of Austria, Croatia, Hungary, Italy, Poland, and Slovenia, signed 18. 06. 1992. Albania acceded later.
  • Agreement regarding the forming of the Civil-Military Emergency Planning Council for South Eastern Europe, signed on 03. 04. 2001, with later accessions. Ratified by Bulgaria, Croatia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Romania. Albania was a participant.
  • Declaration on cooperation in disaster preparedness and prevention in south Eastern Europe singed 5 June 2002.
  • Memorandum of Understanding on the Institutional Framework of the Disaster Preparedness and Prevention Initiative for South Eastern Europe, signed 24.09. 2007.

Relevant international agreements:

  • Council of Europe: Resolution 87(2): Open Partial Agreement on the Prevention of, Protection against, and Organisation of Relief in Major Natural and Technological Disasters. Also known as the EUR-OPA Major Hazards Agreement. Albania signed the accession on the 15. 05. 1993.
  • United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)– Regional Seas Programme: Convention for the Protection of the Mediterranean Sea against Pollution. (The Barcelona Convention) Barcelona, 16. 02. 1976. Protocol concerning cooperation in combating pollution of the Mediterranean Sea by oil and other harmful substances in cases of emergency.

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UN ECE): Convention on the Transboundary Effects of Industrial Accidents, signed on 18 March 1992, ratified 05. 01.1994.

Regional agreements:
Institutional Framework on Disaster Prevention Preparedness Initiative of SEE.